South Wales East is an electoral region of the National Assembly for Wales, consisting of eight constituencies. The region elects 12 members, eight directly elected constituency members and four additional members. The electoral region was first used in 1999, when the National 

Assembly for Wales was created.

Each constituency elects one Assembly Member by the first past the post electoral system, and the region as a whole elects four additional or top-up Assembly Members, to create a degree of proportional representation. 



1. Blaenau Gwent

2. Caerphilly

3. Islwyn

4. Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney

5. Monmouth

6. Newport East

7. Newport West

8. Torfaen

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.